Birth records contain information that tells the circumstances of an individual’s birth, such as their name at birth, name of parent, date of birth, and location they were delivered as a baby. It is a type of vital record. Custodians of Deschutes County birth records must provide it to eligible individuals under the Oregon Freedom of Information Act.
The Deschutes County Health Services has jurisdiction over vital records within the county area. It is responsible for storing and distributing public vital records, including birth certificates, to eligible persons.
Interested individuals that wish to find the birth certificates of an infant younger than six months can request them from Deschutes County Health Services. However, you must confirm your eligibility. You can visit the custodian’s office location to request or do so via mail.
Ensure you complete the Birth Record Order Form and take it to the office or address it via mail to:
2577 North East Courtney Drive
Bend, OR 97701
Phone: (541) 322-7498.
Under Oregon laws, birth records can only be obtained by the individual named on the document, some family relatives, attorneys, and government agencies. However, Deschutes County birth records maintained longer than 100 years are accessible to everyone. Individuals with a written permission note containing the signature of an authorized person can also provide access to the information.
Individuals that are eligible to get this type of birth record include:
- A parent with name on the birth document
- A step-parent who is married to the baby’s biological parent is listed on the record. The child should not be older than 18 years of age.
- A registered domestic partner.
- The grandparents of the individual (both paternal and maternal).
- An adult biological sibling older than 18 years of age.
- The child of the registrant, age 18 or older
- A lawyer that has a valid legal reason
- Government agencies that are permitted by the appropriate authority.
- A legal guardian upon with legal guardianship paperwork
Requestors should come along with a valid ID card or attach a copy if they are making the request via mail. You can substitute this with three utility bills bearing your current residential address.
If you wish to obtain Deschutes County birth records of persons older than six months, you can request with the Oregon State Vital Records Office. Orders for birth records are available at the office location on weekdays, during business hours (9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.). A fee of $28 applies per record search and $25 for each extra reproduction of the record. Requesters must provide a valid ID and proof of eligibility to get the record. You can also make your request through mail:
800 NorthEast Oregon Street
Portland, OR 97232-2187
Phone: (541) 322-7498
Mail requests take a maximum of five weeks to process and a fee of $25. You can use the order form to submit a request.